Selfie of Dr. Natoshia Askelson and research team on a hike
Board members at a Fueling the Future meeting
Ottumwa Community Advisory Board

Our Team

Leadership, Investigators, and Staff

Our Team

Dr. Afifi's headshot

Rima Adel Afifi

PRC-RH Director and Principal Investigator
Professor, Community & Behavioral Health
Dr. Askelson Headshot

Natoshia Askelson

PRC Deputy Director
Principal Investigator, Core Research Project
Associate Professor, Community & Behavioral Health
Goldenrod in fall

Sandy Berto

PRC Field Coordinator
Becky Bucklin Headshot

Becky Bucklin

PRC Research Manager
Research Manager, Community & Behavioral Health
Nikki profile pic

Nikki Gauthreaux

Research Assistant
Headshot - Ghearing

Gena Ghearing

Managing Epilepsy Well Network, Investigator
Clinical Associate Professor, Neurology
Haines Headshot

Heidi Haines

PRC Coordinator and Evaluator
Project Director, UI Cancer Prevention Control Research Network
Tressel in winter

Helena Laroche

PRC Investigator
Associate Professor, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Dr. Nicole Novak Headshot

Nicole Novak

PRC Investigator
Assistant Research Professor, Community & Behavioral Health
Martha Sajatovic Headshot

Martha Sajatovic

Managing Epilepsy Well Network, Investigator
Professor of Psychiatry and of Neurology, Case Western Reserve University
University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center
Dr. Daniel Sewell Headshot

Daniel Sewell

PRC Investigator
Associate Professor, Biostatistics
Rob svetly

Rob Svetly

PRC Grants Administrator
Administrator, Department of Community and Behavioral Health
Certified Research Administrator
Laurie Walkner Headshot

Laurie Walkner

Translation Lead
Director of Education and Training, Institute for Public Health Practice
Training Lead
Watkins headshot

Shannon Lea Watkins

Communications Lead
PRC Investigator
Assistant Professor, Community & Behavioral Health

Current Students

Our Students


Stephanie Evett

Graduate Research Assistant
MPH Student, Epidemiology
Abinaya Ilavarasan Headshot

Abi Ilavarasan

PRC Communications
MPH Student, Community & Behavioral Health
Meredith Meyer

Meredith Meyer

MPH Student, Health Policy & Management
eliza steere profile pic

Eliza Steere

MPH Student, Community & Behavioral Health
Eliza profile photo

Eliza Waage

Undergraduate Research Associate
3rd Year Undergraduate Student
Cathleen Zbylut

Cathleen Zbylut

3rd Year Undergraduate Student, Public Health

Our Partners

State Advisory Board Members

Sarah Dixon

Sarah Dixon

Senior Director

Emerging Programs, Iowa Primary Care Association

Kaitlin Emrich

Kaitlin Emrich

Deputy Director

Black Hawk Public Health

Katie Jones

Katie Jones

Program Manager

Comprehensive Cancer Control Program, Iowa Department Health and Human Services

Michelle Lewis

Michelle Lewis

Health Promotion and Planning Coordinator

Siouxland District Health Department

Jimmy Reyes

Jimmy Reyes

Associate Director of Practice and Education


Rachel Schramm

Rachel Schramm

Communication and Outreach Coordinator

Iowa Cancer Consortium

Charla Schafer

Charla Shafer

Executive Director 

The Community Foundation of Greater Muscatine

Sarah Taylor Watts

Sarah Taylor Watts

Physical Activity Coordinator

Iowa Department of Public Health

Lina tucker Reinders

Lina Tucker Reinders

Executive Director

Iowa Public Health Association

Shelley Walker

Shelley Walker

Cancer Control Strategic Partnership Manager

American Cancer Society

Internal (University of Iowa) Advisory Board Members

Peter Damiano

Peter Damiano

Health Policy Research Program Director

Public Policy Center

Bernstein Professor, College of Dentistry

Bill Doucette

William Doucette

Professor, Head of Division of Health Sciences Research

David Frisvold

David Frisvold

Director, Social and Education Policy Research Program

Associate Professor

Department of Economics

Tippie College of Business

Aerial photo of University of Iowa campus

Amanda Lensing


Stanley Museum of Art

Ann Marie McCarthy

Anne Marie McCarthy


College of Nursing

Tara McKee

Tara McKee

Business Leadership Network Coordinator

Alumni Relations Coordinator

College of Public Health

Keith Mueller

Keith Mueller

Professor, Health Management and Policy

Director, RUPRI Center for Rural Health Policy Analysis

Rachel Young

Rachel Young

Associate Professor

School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Margaret Carrel

Margaret Carrel

Associate Professor

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill